FX Medicine

Home of integrative and complementary medicine

Congratulations to the 2019 BioCeuticals Integrative Medicine Award Winners

rebeccaguild's picture

Hosted in conjunction with the 7th BioCeuticals Research Symposium, practitioners from all over Australia attended the annual gala dinner for the BioCeuticals Integrative Medicine Awards (BIMAs) on Saturday 4th May 2019 at the Hilton Hotel in Sydney. 

The aim of the BIMA’s is to recognise the achievements and showcase the innovation and talent we have within the complementary and integrative medicine industry in Australia. 

This year’s esteemed recipients were:

For Excellence in Practice for Naturopathy/Herbal Medicine: Dr Ses Salmond

Dr Ses Salmond has devoted her 26+ year naturopathic career to community based women’s health.  At Leichhardt and Liverpool Women’s Health Centres, Ses offers naturopathic consultations to women who are on pensions, homeless, escaping violence or living in poverty.  While a clinician at heart, Ses has also participated on the NHAA Board for 14 years, and notably conducted a clinical trial in the successful adjunct treatment of Hepatitis C using silymarin and antioxidants. Ses is particularly passionate about the work she does in the Aboriginal community to improve health outcomes for Aboriginal women and their families. 

Special mention to the runners up in this category: Dr Nirala Jacobi and Moira Bradfield.

For Excellence in Practice in Nutrition/Dietetics: Kira Sutherland

Kira Sutherland is an experienced, Naturopath and Sports Nutritionist with more than 20 years in clinical practice. Her focus in performance nutrition led her to be the first naturopath in Australia to undertake the International Olympic Committees Graduate Diploma in Sports Nutrition and she is currently finishing her research-based Masters in Sports Nutrition. Kira divides her time between clinical practice, lecturing and mentoring integrative medicine practitioners in the application of holistic sports nutrition. 

Special mention to the runners up in this category: Richard Sager, Moira Bradfield and Tabitha Macintosh. 

For Excellence in Practice in Integrative Medicine: Dr Christabelle Yeoh 

Dr Christabelle Yeoh first practiced hospital medicine in Gastroenterology in the UK NHS before studying her Masters in Nutrition. Since then she has worked as a GP with a dedication to evidence-based Nutritional and Environmental Medicine, first in the UK, before moving to Australia, and currently sits on the board and teaching faculty of ACNEM. Christabelle has a strong interest in chronic disease management, neurological, gastrointestinal and metabolic health and is in great demand as a lecturer by her colleagues and peers. 

Special mention to the runners up in this category: Dr Peter Baratosy and Dr Sally Price. 

For Excellence in Practice in Integrative Pharmacy: Gerald Quigley. 

Gerald Quigley qualified as a pharmacist in 1970 in Victoria. Gerald gained his Herbal Medicine qualifications with The celebrated herbalist Denis Stewart - an inspirational teacher of patient care. While working in pharmacy, Gerald investigated holistic options from lifestyle interventions to nutritional additions and has been a vanguard for patient advocacy in their health choices. 

Special mention to the runners up in this category: Des Lardner, Gareth Galloway and Nick Evans 

For Excellence in Practice in Chiropractic/Osteopathy: Dr Angela Todd 

Dr Angela Todd is a chiropractor from country Victoria, who received her chiropractic degree from RMIT 31 years ago. Since then she has added two post graduate qualifications in chiropractic paediatrics, as well as undertaking research as a PhD Candidate at Monash University Dept of Medicine, Nursing and Allied Health. Angela has published in peer reviewed journals, reviews journal articles as an expert in the paediatric manual therapy field, and speaks around the world on her research relating to the safety and effectiveness of chiropractic care for infants and children. Angela remains active in clinical practice, volunteers as a mentor to undergraduate students, she has sat on both her local hospital Board, as well as the Australian Chiropractors National Board. 

Special mention to the runners up in this category: Dr Michael French, Dr Anne Jensen and Dr Matthew Bourke. 

For Lecturer/Educator of the Year: Moira Bradfield

Moira Bradfield is an educator in both higher and private education with 16 years teaching experience supporting naturopaths, nutritionists and acupuncture students in Australia and overseas. Recently she had begun diversifying the dissemination of knowledge to both practitioners and the public through a range of presentations, short courses, workshops, and podcasts through her Intimate Ecology education services. This has lead to collaborative relationships which have further strengthened both clinical practice and research into disorders of vaginal dysbiosis.  

Special mention to the runners up in this category: Tabitha Macintosh and Kira Sutherland. 

For Researcher of the Year: Justin Sinclair

Justin Sinclair is a Research Fellow at the NICM Health Research Institute at Western Sydney University, where he also heads up the Australian Medicinal Cannabis Research and Education Collaboration. Since 2016, Justin has presented his research findings and educational material specific to Cannabis at over 60 seminars across Australia and New Zealand, and has been actively involved in the training of medical practitioners in the safe and effective use of medicinal cannabis throughout Australia. His current research focus is investigating the use of medicinal cannabis for the symptomatic management of endometriosis. 

 Special mention to the runners up in this category: Dr Ses Salmond and Dr Angela Todd. 

Congratulations to all the award recipients and the runners up, who are all to be commended for the work they do for the industry that resulted in being nominated by their peers and colleagues for these awards. 

The BIMA’s are independent awards with the sole aim of celebrating clinicians, educators and researchers who demonstrate excellence in their chosen profession. Nominations are anonymous and nominees are judged by a mixed panel of healthcare professionals, chosen for their dedication to authenticity and transparency. 

The judging panel certainly had a difficult task sifting through all the talented nominees. Their contribution to the 2019 is recognised with appreciation. The 2019 panel of judges included: Jodi Barry, Sarah Franklin, Emrys Goldworthy, Leah Hechtman and Alexandra Middleton. 

Watch the final panel discussion with all the keynote speakers


The information provided on FX Medicine is for educational and informational purposes only. The information provided on this site is not, nor is it intended to be, a substitute for professional advice or care. Please seek the advice of a qualified health care professional in the event something you have read here raises questions or concerns regarding your health.



Share / Print: